Introducing the Hawkesbury Classic

The rivalry between the Newcastle Northstars and Sydney Ice Dogs runs deep.

Each time the two teams face off, it’s a feisty battle for the win.

Each time these two teams meet, one must travel on the M1 and across the Hawkesbury River divide.

During this uncertain time, we wanted to provide the Australian Ice Hockey community with home grown hockey in a safe way. This led to the creation of the Hawkesbury Classic.

The series begins on Sunday 2 August 2020 at Hunter Ice Skating Stadium with puck drop at 4:00pm. The Hawkesbury Classic will be hosted between Macquarie Ice Rink and Hunter Ice Skating Stadium.

Each game will be live streamed to ensure that our fans, local communities and the Australian Ice Hockey community can enjoy home grown hockey safely.

Each live game pass will be $10.

Limited tickets will be available for each game, with ticket releases being made available to each team’s sponsors, season ticket holders and then the wider fan base.

The series will proceed as follows:
Game 1 – 4:00 pm Sunday 2 August 2020, HISS
Game 2 – 5:00 pm Saturday 8 August 2020, Macquarie Ice Rink
Game 3 – 5:00 pm Saturday 15 August 2020, Macquarie Ice Rink
Game 4 – 3:30 pm Saturday 22 August 2020, HISS
Following games are TBA.

If you plan on attending any of the events please keep the following in mind:

  • Temperature checks will be conducted prior to entry.
  • Spectators will be required to practice social distancing inside and outside the venue and are strongly encouraged to wear face masks.
  • Newcastle Northstars and Sydney Ice Dogs management strongly encourage fans to only attend games at their local venue.

For more information, check out our FAQ.